Aggravating Factors in a Pennsylvania DUI | What You Should Know

Get a Free Consultation
dui pennsylvania

Depending on whether or not there were specific aggravating factors involved in their DUI, even first-time offenders may face increased penalties or even a felony charge. Generally, those arrested by police for driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher will likely receive six months of probation, a fine of up to $300 and required attendance in alcohol safety school and substance abuse treatment for a first conviction. If your case meets those aggravating conditions, please read on, then contact an experienced Allegheny County DUI lawyer to learn what you should know about aggravating factors in a Pennsylvania DUI.

What qualify as aggravating factors in a Pennsylvania DUI?

  • High BAC: If drivers are found with a BAC of .099 percent or higher, they could face increased penalties.
    • BAC of .10 percent to .14 percent: If convicted, a driver faces a jail sentence between 48 hours and six months, up to $5,000 in fines and a license suspension of up to 1 year.
    • BAC of .15 percent or higher: If convicted, a driver faces a minimum of 72 hours in jail and a minimum of $1,000 in fines.
  • Minor passenger: If you are arrested while having a minor passenger in the car, you will likely face first-degree misdemeanor charges in addition to the other penalties associated with driving under the influence.
    • First-degree misdemeanor penalties:
      • Up to 5 years in jail
      • Between $1,000 and $10,000 in fines
      • A driver’s license suspension of up to 18 months
      • Up to 100 hours of community service
  • DUI with injury: Causing someone to suffer a serious injury due to you driving under the influence can lead to you being charged with aggravated assault while under the influence. If convicted of this second-degree felony, you face up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
  • Homicide DUI: If your impaired driving led to someone losing his or her life, you could be charged with a DUI homicide, which is a second-degree felony. A conviction carries a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 3 years and a maximum fine of $25,000 for each person who lost his or her life.

It is crucial that you retain the services of our skilled DUI attorney, George A. Heym, Esq if you are facing aggravated DUI charges. Give our firm a call today to learn more about how our attorney can help you with your charges. We will do everything in our power to defend you from a life-altering conviction.

Contact Our Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer

The Law Office of George Heym focuses solely on DUI defense. George Heym is a former Allegheny County DUI prosecutor with an understanding of both sides of a DUI case, notable litigation experience, and relationships with local courts. Contact our firm to fight for your rights.

Contact Us
Today!

Client Testimonials

“DUI case June 28, 2011- I extremely recommend hiring George Heym. He was entirely honest and great at spending thorough time on the phone. He gave me his personal cell phone so that any time, day or night if I was nervous or had a question about something, he would be able to answer it. Before I eve...”

Anonymous

“The Pennsylvania DUI legal process is much more complicated and confusing than I would expect. George made this process easy to navigate and helped to make things as straightforward as they could be for me. I was trying to deal with the legal process of getting a DUI in Pennsylvania after moving out...”

Matt