Penalties for High BAC DUIs in Pennsylvania | What to Know

Get a Free Consultation

Penalties for High BAC DUIs in Pennsylvania | What to Know

If you have been charged with a DUI with a blood alcohol content of .10% or .159%, you will likely receive a high BAC DUI in Pennsylvania. It is important that you retain the services of an experienced Pennsylvania DUI attorney who can walk you through the steps of the legal process ahead. Our firm will explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. To learn more about our services and how we can assist you, do not hesitate to reach out to our legal team today to schedule your initial consultation. Continue reading to learn what to expect when being charged with a first, second, third, and fourth offense high BAC DUI in Pennsylvania.

What are the penalties for a first-offense high BAC DUI in PA (Tier 2)?

Drivers will face the following consequences for a first-offense high BAC DUI in Pennsylvania:

  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • A 12-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • A fine between $500 and $5,000
  • Mandatory minimum 48 hours of incarceration
  • Potential court-ordered treatment
  • Mandatory enrollment and completion of alcohol highway safety school

What are the penalties for a second-offense high BAC DUI in PA (Tier 2)?

Drivers will face harsher penalties if they are convicted of a second-offense high BAC DUI in Pennsylvania including the following:

  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • A 12-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • A fine between $750 and $5,000
  • Mandatory minimum 30 days of incarceration
  • Potential court-ordered treatment
  • Mandatory enrollment and completion of alcohol highway safety school
  • Up to 1 year with the ignition interlock device

What are the penalties for a third-offense high BAC DUI in PA (Tier 2)?

When a driver is charged with a third-offense high BAC DUI in Pennsylvania, the potential penalties will be ramped up including the following consequences:

  • A 1st-degree misdemeanor
  • A potential 18-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • Mandatory minimum 90 days of incarceration
  • Up to 1 year with the ignition interlock device
  • A fine between $1,500 and $10,000
  • Potential court-ordered treatment

What are the penalties for a fourth or subsequent high BAC DUI in PA (Tier 2)?

A driver convicted of a  fourth or subsequent high BAC DUI will face the following severe penalties:

  • A 1st-degree misdemeanor
  • A potential 18-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • Mandatory minimum 1 year of incarceration
  • A fine between $1,500 and $10,000
  • 1 year with the ignition interlock device
  • Potential court-ordered treatment

Contact Our Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer

The Law Office of George Heym focuses exclusively on DUI defense. George Heym is a former Allegheny County DUI prosecutor with an understanding of both sides of a DUI case, notable litigation experience, and relationships with local courts. Contact our firm to fight for your rights.

Contact Us
Today!

Client Testimonials

“DUI case June 28, 2011- I extremely recommend hiring George Heym. He was entirely honest and great at spending thorough time on the phone. He gave me his personal cell phone so that any time, day or night if I was nervous or had a question about something, he would be able to answer it. Before I eve...”

Anonymous

“The Pennsylvania DUI legal process is much more complicated and confusing than I would expect. George made this process easy to navigate and helped to make things as straightforward as they could be for me. I was trying to deal with the legal process of getting a DUI in Pennsylvania after moving out...”

Matt