What Are Consequences of a Fourth of July DUI in Pennsylvania?

Get a Free Consultation
dui pennsylvania pa

For many of us, the Fourth of July means gathering with friends and family for backyard barbecues, block parties and other get-togethers. This is especially true as we emerge from the shadow of COVID. If you are like many other American adults, you plan to partake of a few alcoholic beverages in addition to the mounds of food. With that in mind, you should be informed that no matter what day of the year it is, driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs or alcohol is never legal. Unfortunately, you or a loved one may have already made that mistake. For more information on the consequences of a Fourth of July DUI in Pennsylvania, please continue reading, then contact an experienced Pittsburgh first DUI lawyer today.

What happens when you get a DUI on the Fourth of July in Pennsylvania?

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hosted some of the most crucial moments of our nation’s fight for independence and its subsequent founding. Be that as it may, prosecutors in the Commonwealth will punish those accused of drunk or impaired driving to the fullest extent of the law, regardless of the date of the alleged criminal offense. When it comes to penalties, your level of intoxication will be a deciding factor and so, penalties for a first-time DUI are as follows:

General Impairment (Blood Alcohol Content between .08% and .099%) DUI :

  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • Mandatory 6 months of probation
  • A potential $300 fine
  • Mandatory participation and completion of alcohol highway safety school
  • Treatment, if court-ordered

High Blood Alcohol Content (between .10% and .16%) DUI:

  • Mandatory minimum 48 hours of incarceration
  • Up to 6 months of incarceration
  • Mandatory participation and completion of alcohol highway safety school
  • A 12-month license suspension
  • 1 year with the ignition interlock device
  • A potential $5,000 fine

Highest Blood Alcohol Content (.16% or higher) DUI:

  • Mandatory minimum of 72 hours of incarceration
  • Up to 6 months of incarceration
  • A potential $5,000 fine
  • A 12-month license suspension
  • 1 year with the ignition interlock device
  • Full D&A Assessment
  • Mandatory participation and completion of alcohol highway safety school

No matter how inebriated you allegedly were, you need to avail yourself of the services of a skilled Allegheny County DUI lawyer as soon as possible.

What should you do about a Fourth of July DUI in Pennsylvania?

Circumstances permitting, you should be proactive. You and your lawyer will need to collect and present compelling exculpatory and/or mitigating evidence in order to convince the prosecutor and/or judge to reduce or dismiss your charges. You and your lawyer can argue the case on factual grounds, i.e. contesting the test results, witness testimonies and other evidence, or on procedural grounds, i.e. asserting that law enforcement did not follow the Constitution as they pursued your case. You may even combine the two approaches, but either way, you will need strong evidence and a seasoned defense lawyer on your side.

Contact Our Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer

If you are facing a DUI charge, contact The Law Offices of George Heym to schedule your free initial consultation.

Contact Us
Today!

Client Testimonials

“DUI case June 28, 2011- I extremely recommend hiring George Heym. He was entirely honest and great at spending thorough time on the phone. He gave me his personal cell phone so that any time, day or night if I was nervous or had a question about something, he would be able to answer it. Before I eve...”

Anonymous

“The Pennsylvania DUI legal process is much more complicated and confusing than I would expect. George made this process easy to navigate and helped to make things as straightforward as they could be for me. I was trying to deal with the legal process of getting a DUI in Pennsylvania after moving out...”

Matt