When someone is charged with a DUI while under the age of 21, they have a lot to consider. Unfortunately, those under the age of 21 can face DUI charges in Pennsylvania with a blood alcohol content of as low as .02%, far lower than the standard .08% for those over the age of 21. That said, if you’re currently facing an underage DUI, you should strongly consider hiring a seasoned Pittsburgh under 21 DUI lawyer who can help you fight your charges at every turn. Read this blog and give us a call to learn more about the underage DUI laws in Pennsylvania and how we can help.
What penalties do Pennsylvania’s underage DUI laws impose for conviction?
In Pennsylvania, an underage DUI is a misdemeanor. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest and whether you have any priors, the penalties you may face vary extensively. That said, you will likely face the following penalties for an underage DUI conviction:
- Jail time: You may face anywhere between six months and five years of incarceration, with a minimum of 48 hours in jail for a first offense before being released on probation.
- Fines: You can face fines ranging anywhere from a minimum of $500 to a maximum of $10,000, depending on whether this is your first, second, or third offense.
- License suspension: For a first or second offense, you will likely face a 12-month driver’s license suspension. For a third offense, you’ll face an 18-month license suspension. You will also have to install and use the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for one year before your license is fully reinstated. Once you serve half of your suspension period, you can elect to install the ignition interlock device and regain limited driving privileges for the remained of your suspension.
- Treatment: You’ll first need to complete a drug and alcohol investigation before your sentencing. From there, the judge will determine whether you require treatment or up to 150 hours of community service and attendance at a DUI impact panel. You will likely also have to complete an alcohol highway safety school program.
If you have any further questions regarding underage DUI laws and penalties in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, please do not hesitate to speak with a skilled Allegheny County DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
Contact Our Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer
If you are facing a DUI charge, contact The Law Offices of George Heym to schedule your free initial consultation.