What Are the Penalties for Underage DUI Charges in Pennsylvania?

Get a Free Consultation

What Are the Penalties for Underage DUI Charges in Pennsylvania?

Drivers who are under the age of 21 may receive a DUI if they are found to have a BAC of just .02%. This is not to be mistaken with the BAC limit of .08% for drivers over the age of 21. This difference is due to Pennsylvania’s zero-tolerance law. Underage individuals will face severe consequences for driving after drinking. Underage individuals who refuse to submit to chemical testing such as a breathalyzer will warrant an automatic 1-year suspension of their driver’s license.

To learn more about the penalties for underage DUI charges in Pennsylvania, continue reading.

What are the penalties for a first-offense underage DUI in Pennsylvania?

You will face the following penalties for a first-offense underage DUI in Pennsylvania:

  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • Mandatory minimum 48 hours of incarceration
  • Up to 6 months of incarceration
  • A 12-month license suspension
  • 1 year of the ignition interlock device
  • A potential $5,000 fine
  • Mandatory enrollment in alcohol highway safety school
  • Potential court-ordered treatment

What are the penalties for a second-offense underage DUI in Pennsylvania?

The potential penalties for an induvial who is charged with a second underage DUI in Pennsylvania include the following:

  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • Mandatory minimum 30 days of incarceration
  • Up to 6 months of incarceration
  • A 12-month license suspension
  • Up to 1 year with the ignition interlock device
  • A potential $5,000 fine
  • Mandatory enrollment in alcohol highway safety school
  • Potential court-ordered treatment

What are the penalties for a third-offense underage DUI in Pennsylvania?

Individuals who are facing third DUI charges in Pennsylvania will likely face the following penalties:

  • A 1st-degree misdemeanor
  • Mandatory minimum of 90 days of incarceration
  • Up to 5 years of incarceration
  • An 18-month license suspension
  • Up to 1 year with the ignition interlock device
  • A potential $10,000 fine
  • Potential court-ordered treatment

If you are facing any of the above charges and penalties, it is essential that you reach out to an experienced DUI defense attorney. A knowledgeable attorney will explore all avenues of defense on your behalf. The potential penalties for underage DUI charges can cost you greatly. Our firm understand the impacts that these penalties may have on your future. It is best to speak with an experienced DUI lawyer who has experience handling underage cases such as yours. Contact the Law Offices of George Heym today to schedule your free initial consultation with our competent legal team.

Contact Our Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer

The Law Office of George Heym focuses exclusively on DUI defense in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, and the surrounding areas. George Heym is a former Allegheny County DUI prosecutor with intimate knowledge of both sides of a DUI case, significant litigation experience, and forged relationships with local courts. When your future can be deeply affected by a DUI case, you shouldn’t settle. Contact our firm to fight for your rights.

Contact Us
Today!

Client Testimonials

“DUI case June 28, 2011- I extremely recommend hiring George Heym. He was entirely honest and great at spending thorough time on the phone. He gave me his personal cell phone so that any time, day or night if I was nervous or had a question about something, he would be able to answer it. Before I eve...”

Anonymous

“The Pennsylvania DUI legal process is much more complicated and confusing than I would expect. George made this process easy to navigate and helped to make things as straightforward as they could be for me. I was trying to deal with the legal process of getting a DUI in Pennsylvania after moving out...”

Matt