It is possible for first-time DUI offenders to face increased penalties or even a felony charge if there were certain aggravating factors involved in their DUI. Typically, if you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol content of at least .08 percent, a first-offense conviction will likely result in probation for up to six months, up to $300 in fines, and a required alcohol safety school and substance abuse treatment. To learn more about the aggravating factors in a Pennsylvania DUI that can increase these consequences, continue reading. For assistance with your DUI charges, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced Allegheny County DUI lawyer.
What are the aggravating factors in a Pennsylvania DUI?
- High BAC: Drivers could face increased penalties if they are found with a BAC higher than .099 percent.
- Having a BAC of .10 percent can result in the driver facing six months in jail with a minimum 48-hour sentence, license suspension for up to one year, and fines up to $5,000
- Having a BAC of .15 percent can result in the driver facing a minimum jail sentence of 72 hours and a minimum fine of $1,000
- Minor passenger: Drivers who are arrested for a DUI with a minor passenger in their vehicle will face first-degree misdemeanor charges on top of the other penalties associated with drunk driving.
- First-degree misdemeanor penalties include a maximum of five years in jail, fines up to $10,000 with a minimum mandatory fine of $1,000, suspension of their driver’s license for up to 18 months, and up to 100 hours of community service.
- DUI with Injury: Drivers who caused an individual to suffer a serious injury due to their drunk driving could be charged with aggravated assault while under the influence. This is a second-degree felony. A second-degree felony includes penalties of a prison sentence of up to 10 years and up to $25,000 in fines.
- Homicide DUI: If a driver caused an individual to pass away as a result of their drunk driving, they could face charges of a DUI homicide. This is known as a second-degree felony which carries a mandatory minimum of three years in prison and a maximum $25,000 fine for each individual who passed.
If you are facing aggravated DUI charges, it is essential that you retain the services of our experienced DUI attorney, George A. Heym, Esq. To learn more about how our attorney can assist you with your charges, give our firm a call today. We will explore all avenues of defense on your behalf.
Contact Our Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer
The Law Office of George Heym focuses solely on DUI defense. George Heym is a former Allegheny County DUI prosecutor with an understanding of both sides of a DUI case, notable litigation experience, and relationships with local courts. Contact our firm to fight for your rights.