What to Know About Third-Offense DUIs in Pennsylvania

Get a Free Consultation

What to Know About Third-Offense DUIs in Pennsylvania

If you are facing a third-offense DUI in Pennsylvania, continue reading to learn the penalties you may face. If you require assistance with your charges, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced Pittsburgh DUI attorney.

What are the penalties for a third-offense DUI in Pennsylvania?

When a driver is charged with a third or subsequent DUI, they are considered a repeat offender. The following are the penalties for a third or subsequent DUI with a BAC higher than .08% and lower than .10%:

  • Mandatory minimum 10 days of incarceration
  • Up to 2 years of incarceration
  • A 2nd-degree misdemeanor
  • A 12-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • Full D&A assessment
  • Up to 1 year with the ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle
  • A potential fine ranging from $500 to $5,000
  • Potential court-ordered treatment

It is also important to note that you may spend time in prison rather than jail and you will face 2nd-degree misdemeanor charges. Having a 2nd-degree misdemeanor on your record may cause you to have trouble getting certain jobs or renting certain properties. This is why it is important to retain the services of an experienced attorney if you are facing the above charges.

What are the penalties for a high BAC DUI in Pennsylvania?

Drivers will face the following penalties for a third DUI within 10 years and a BAC of more than .10% and less than .16%:

  • Mandatory minimum 90 days of incarceration
  • Up to 5 years of incarceration
  • A 1st-degree misdemeanor
  • Full D&A assessment
  • A $1,500-$10,000 fine
  • An 18-month license suspension
  • Mandatory use of the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 1 year
  • You will lose your right to own a firearm
  • Consequences of a Highest BAC (Tier 3) DUI in PA

What are the penalties for a highest BAC DUI in Pennsylvania?

If you were found to be driving with a BAC higher than .16% and if this is your third DUI within 10 years, you can expect to face the following severe penalties:

  • Mandatory minimum 1 year in jail
  • Up to 7 years in jail
  • A 3rd-degree felony
  • A fine between $2,500-$15,000
  • DNA sampling
  • Full D&A assessment
  • An 18-month license suspension
  • One year with the ignition interlock device
  • You will lose your right to own a firearm

What are the penalties of a third-offense chemical test refusal in Pennsylvania?

It is important to know that refusing a breathalyzer test rarely has a positive result for the driver. If you refuse to take a breathalyzer test for the third or subsequent time, you will face the following penalties:

  • 18-month license suspension
  • Potential $2,000 fine to reinstate your license

If you require assistance with your DUI charges, look no further than our experienced attorney at the Law Office of George Heym.

Contact Our Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer

The Law Office of George Heym focuses exclusively on DUI defense. George Heym is a former Allegheny County DUI prosecutor with an understanding of both sides of a DUI case, notable litigation experience, and relationships with local courts. Contact our firm to fight for your rights.

Contact Us
Today!

Client Testimonials

“DUI case June 28, 2011- I extremely recommend hiring George Heym. He was entirely honest and great at spending thorough time on the phone. He gave me his personal cell phone so that any time, day or night if I was nervous or had a question about something, he would be able to answer it. Before I eve...”

Anonymous

“The Pennsylvania DUI legal process is much more complicated and confusing than I would expect. George made this process easy to navigate and helped to make things as straightforward as they could be for me. I was trying to deal with the legal process of getting a DUI in Pennsylvania after moving out...”

Matt