Pittsburgh Under 21 DUI Lawyer

Get a Free Consultation
Under 21 DUI

Those under the age of 21 are no stranger to mistakes, though unfortunately, an underage DUI is an unnecessarily costly mistake. If you’ve been charged with an underage DUI, you need an experienced Pittsburgh under 21 DUI lawyer on your side. Contact the Law Office of George Heym today.

Do I Need a Pittsburgh Under 21 DUI Lawyer?

While drivers over the age of 21 are required to have a BAC of .08% to receive a DUI, minors under the age of 21 may receive a DUI if they are found to have a BAC of just .02% or higher, under Pennsylvania’s zero-tolerance law. You should note that as a minor, refusal to submit to chemical testing, such as a breathalyzer test, will warrant an automatic 1-year suspension of the minor’s driver’s license. If you are currently facing DUI charges due to either of the aforementioned, you need an experienced Allegheny County DUI lawyer on your side.

Penalties for a First-Offense Underage DUI

You should understand that just because you are underage does not mean the courts will hold back. For a first-offense underage DUI, you will face the following penalties:

  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • A potential $5,000 fine
  • A 12-month license suspension
  • Mandatory minimum 48 hours of incarceration
  • Up to 6 months of incarceration
  • 1 year of the ignition interlock device
  • Mandatory enrollment in alcohol highway safety school
  • Potential court-ordered treatment

Penalties for a Second-Offense Underage DUI

If you are convicted of a second underage DUI, you can expect the courts to punisher you even harsher. The potential penalties for a second underage DUI in the state of Pennsylvania are as follows:

  • An ungraded misdemeanor
  • A potential $5,000 fine
  • A 12-month license suspension
  • Mandatory minimum 30 days of incarceration
  • Up to 6 months of incarceration
  • Up to 1 year with the ignition interlock device
  • Potential court-ordered treatment
  • Mandatory enrollment in alcohol highway safety school

Penalties for a Third Underage DUI in PA

Though it is rare for anyone to receive a third underage DUI in Pennsylvania, it can happen, and if you are currently facing third DUI charges in PA, you will most likely face the following consequences:

  • A 1st-degree misdemeanor
  • A potential $10,000 fine
  • An 18-month license suspension
  • Mandatory minimum of 90 days of incarceration
  • Up to 5 years of incarceration
  • Up to 1 year with the ignition interlock device
  • A potential $10,000 fine
  • Potential court-ordered treatment

Contact a Pittsburgh Under 21 DUI Lawyer

As you can see, the potential penalties for an underage DUI can cost you greatly in the long run, which is why it is always best to first speak with an experienced Pittsburgh under 21 DUI lawyer as soon as you can. Contact the Law Offices of George Heym today to schedule your free initial consultation with our competent legal team.

Contact Us
Today!

Client Testimonials

“DUI case June 28, 2011- I extremely recommend hiring George Heym. He was entirely honest and great at spending thorough time on the phone. He gave me his personal cell phone so that any time, day or night if I was nervous or had a question about something, he would be able to answer it. Before I eve...”

Anonymous

“The Pennsylvania DUI legal process is much more complicated and confusing than I would expect. George made this process easy to navigate and helped to make things as straightforward as they could be for me. I was trying to deal with the legal process of getting a DUI in Pennsylvania after moving out...”

Matt